ISPL: Tennis ball cricket league with six teams in T10 format will be organized in March

Mumbai: A six-team tennis ball league in T10 format with a total of 19 matches will be organized here from March 2 to 9 next year, with all matches being played in cricket stadiums.

The league, named Indian Street Premier League (ISPL), will feature franchise-owned teams representing Mumbai (Maharashtra), Hyderabad (Andhra Pradesh and Telangana), Bengaluru (Karnataka), Chennai (Tamil Nadu) and Kolkata (West Bengal). . , and Srinagar (Jammu and Kashmir).

With a squad limit of 16 players, each team also has six support staff with a total fee of Rs 10 lakh and a mentor; for example, a former Ranji Trophy player, for a fee of Rs 15 lakh. Each team will have a “prominent anchor owner.”

Each franchise has a budget of Rs 1 crore while the base price at the auction for each player is Rs 3 lakh with no cap.

The player auction will be organized here on February 24th.

Former India head coach and captain Ravi Shastri is the ISPL commissioner while BCCI treasurer Ashish Shelar and Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) president Amol Kale are the core members of the committee.

“At the core of ISPL is the vision to empower the vast community of players who dream of playing cricket like their idols in world-class stadiums,” the league said in a statement.